Babywearing Journals – Michelle

Hey! I’m Michelle. I have two daughters, a 2-year-old and a 5-month-old. My babywearing journey started when I was 10 years old. My mother had a baby and she wore him in a hiking carrier. As I grew up, I saw more and more carriers. My aunt used a Moby, a cousin used a Bjorn. I knew that when I had children, I would also want to wear them. Finally, when I moved to Hawaii and was six months pregnant with my first baby, I was introduced to the Ergo by a friend of mine. While I was researching cloth diapers, I found out about other soft structured carriers (SSCs). My journey led me to Baby Awearness in Manoa.  It was there that I purchased my first carrier, a Beco Gemini.

I used my Gemini the day before my baby turned one month old, on July 4, 2011. I loved it. I used it every single day. I kept frequenting babywearing boards and decided to test out a ring sling. I bought a Sakura Bloom. And the addiction grew from there. I bought a wrap conversion ring sling (WCRS). The more I used my WCRS, the more curious I became about woven wraps. So when my baby was 9 months old I decided to try a woven wrap. My first wrap was a Girasol Lilia in a size 6.

I watched YouTube videos, I bought more wraps, I went to Na Kamalei. Becoming a VBE was the natural next step in my journey. I want to spread the babywearing love. I want to help people learn these skills. Wearing my babies has been a life saver, literally, in some cases. I think without it I would be a much more frazzled person. I am beyond ecstatic to have the means to help others now! Becoming a BWI chapter has only helped our small community, and will hopefully help for many years to come!

This entry was posted in BWI, People, Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

